It’s hard to imagine a world without Ryan Davis

by Matt Clinks

Screen Shot 2013-07-08 at 2.43.52 PMRyan Davis 1979-2013

It’s weird when I look back at the road I’ve taken to get to where I am. There are people I’ve directly interacted with, formed relationships with and colleagues I’ve met along the way. Then, there is a person like Ryan Davis, the host of Giant Bomb’s ‘bombcast’. He’s someone I’ve never actually met, but in no way does that decrease the amount of loss I feel today. It’s something new and unique to the time we live in today. Websites, podcasts, web videos, etc. It all has an effect. It all has reach. It all touches people.

Looking back, I don’t know if I would have taken the plunge to entirely shift my industry if it wasn’t for people like him. Every week, I listened to the GiantBombcast for hours on end. On road trips and vacations, I would download old episodes so I wouldn’t run out of shows. It’s something that’s been a mainstay in my life for over 5 years. 5 years! No matter how the tides of life have moved, I’ve always had my bombcast there every week. It’s a comforting thing. It’s home.

I remember being somewhere near the Grand Canyon once with Whitt. I had just ran out of episodes of the Bombcast to listen to, so what’d we do? We found a McDonald’s parking lot and parked there for awhile. You see, using the free internet, I could download the most recent episodes of the bombcast…making the rest of our road trip nice and entertaining. The lengths I went through to always have the 4 or 5 dudes talkin in my ear! Good times.

I’m sure if I were ever to have met Ryan, he would have been a nice and amicable guy to me, a random stranger…The odd flipside of the coin is, after this long time, listening in every week for the show. It feels like your apart of it. I feel like I knew him.

I’m sure he got that alot.

But this ‘constant’ is also one of the main reasons I took my love of videogames to the next level, pursuing a career in the industry. Every week on the bombcast, I got the latest scoop from around the industry, with Ryan at the helm.

Hell, I wouldn’t have started MetaVendetta without the influence of the Bombcast. It’s a feverish feeling, you want to spread the joy that something like that gives you.

This is a huge loss for everyone – and my heart goes out to his friends, family, and the entire GiantBomb community. Today was truly a sad day.

 

 

