Dear Esther, I Just Experienced Your Story

by Matt Clinks

I know, I know…that’s a terrible title for this blog, but it’s very accurate! You see, I just finished playing through thechineseroom’s new game Dear Esther. If you haven’t heard it’s on sale on Steam right now for 50% off!


I really don’t know how many people I can/would recommend this game to. It’s barely a “game” in the traditional sense. It is more an interactive story with what seems to be nonlinear pathways(but i could be wrong). Even more accurate, this game feels like your playing through a poem(cough, Flower) . It has a narrator, but the mood and environment are surreal. I found myself stopping several times and simply taking it all in. But don’t think for a second your gonna get your Call of Duty fix with this game. There is no shooting, no jumping, no running, no health packs. You simply…walk. I don’t want to get into the story too much, but it’s captivating.

This is just another example of an indie developer going out on a limb and making something really unique. With everything on XBLA, PSN and the ongoing PC front, the indie scene is very interesting. It seems like a new indie game has a ton of buzz around it almost every week. It’s fantastic to get these new ideas into the industry!

Like I said, this game is odd. I loved it, but it’s odd.

Check it out!

[link to reviews: PC Gamer, EDGE, IGN, and Destructoid]

