Under the Cape in New Vegas!

by Matt Clinks

Very interesting…apparently Batman:Arkham Asylum was good enough to warrant a second playthrough.

After a long Gamefly delay(Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood FYI) I decided to go pick up Batman and play through it for the xbox points. You see, I beat t originally on PS3, because I heard the camera worked a wee bit better and the exclusive inclusion of the joker as a playable character in the challenge menus.

I talked in my last update about Fallout: New Vegas, and the struggle to power though the game. That sounds a bit harsh, but I mean it in a good way. I really loved the characters and story. But I don’t know if I can play through another Bethesda game using this same engine. It honestly feels like Morrowind’s long un-upgraded cousin. Sure it looks better, but that’s just the glossy outer shell.

That being said, I hear Elder Scrolls: Skyrim IS INDEED using a new engine. So hooray for Bethesda!

Back to New Vegas. It is very clear that Obsidian knows exactly where they wanted to go with the story. They have a very deep, tangled script, with fun and intriguing characters. It seems to make you want to play for hours on end, trying to tie up each story-arc. The game starts with you being shot in the head and spirals out of control from there. You will face factions, cannibals, escape convicts, tribesmen, giant robots, monsters, and more scrap metal and post-apocalyptic action than you can bare.

The gameplay itself has remained unchanged. It is a very slow-paced, narrative driven, western RPG. If you liked Fallout 3, you’ll like this. If you liked Oblivion, you’ll like this. If you aren’t big on story you should rent it and commit 2 hours to it. If you still don’t like it, it may not be for you.

Praise has been stated, but the game is not without some downfalls. I still HATE the fact that the game tries to tie itself up. Sure I think it must have made plenty o sense to Obsidian when they where writing the story. But having to beat the game and then  revert back to a prior save so you can actually finish the game is stupid. Compound that with the FACT that they had planned on Downloadable content before they released the game. This content has to be played before you finish the game, so what gives? Am I supposed to wait till the all the DLC is released to finish the game?    DUMB.

I give New Vegas 7.5 out of 10. Will see how the DLC changes the game. I know the Fallout 3 DLC really added some great new experiences that varied up the game.

